With their New Age hippy name this band were a lot more than met the eye or ear as time would tell. The band consisted of 2 musically prolific writers in Guitarist / Vocalists David Hunt and Brett Lupton. Lupton was fresh from drumming with All Fall Down and showed an adept talent for sweetly melodic well crafted guitar pop, as did Hunt. The band members were all at early stages in their musical careers but the seeds of talent were growing, and Genie And The Wild Children had some pretty good melodic ideas going, if in need of a little pruning. The band originally performed as a 2 guitar led 3 piece, with drummer Marcus Puentener filling out the rhythms in a speed up / slow down kind of way.
They eventually enlisted bassist Mark Tyler before disbanding.
They recorded 3 tracks before splitting, one of which ended up on the Failsafe South Compilation.
Lupton, Hunt and Tyler went on to form Catherine Wheel (no relation to the UK band of the same name, this one was formed in 1988 if it makes any difference) with Paul O'Brien, and the band became brilliantly adept at working up catchy pop and indie rock numbers. The band recorded 6 songs with Rob Mayes in the band's warehouse on 4 track yielding exceptional results, and self-released minimal copies of it to friends. One track "Love And Justice" was included on the Pagan records indie guitar compilation Positive Vibrations.
This batch of songs mined similar territory to The Jean Paul Satre Experience in their Flex EP phase, but with The Catherine Wheel's own slanted style. Easily as good though.
Another series of recordings were completed at the same warehouse on 8 track yielding 4 more songs, none of which were released.
The band also committed to tape a large part of their set at a recording session at Rob Mayes Gilby Street home but the sessions were scrapped due to difficulty with O'Briens drum sounds. These songs represented a wealth of cool pop songs, and most were not recorded again. Later developments in recording technology would have allowed correction of the original problem, but no use crying over spilt milk.
Catherine Wheel stumbled on to average success, the band always having trouble with live gigs, through technical difficulties, and in some cases stage fright. Eventually the band split with Lupton going on to form Squirm
Hunt went on to form Supertanker, and recorded and released material with Failsafe. Supertanker went through a few line-up changes before folding, and Hunt eventually ended up as replacement guitarist for Christchurch Grungsters Pumpkinhead. At Pumpkinhead's demise Hunt joined David Yetin's (JPSE) Stereobus project, joining after the release of the first album. The Stereobus are preparing for the recording of their second album, this time featuring the complete band.

Bassist Mark went on to collaborate with drummer Dave Deacon as the Sly and Robbie rhythm section of Christchurch working in Golf Course Alligators, Salmonella Dub, and 147Swordfish, amongst many others.

"South" - Various Artists (song See For Yourself)

Back To New Zealand Music History


Failsafe Records, P O Box 3003, Christchurch, New Zealand ::